Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Hero Cities of the USSR (partial)

Hero Cities shown, from left to right:

Moscow, Leningrad, Volgograd, Kiev, Minsk, Odessa, Sevastopol

Other Hero Cities not shown:

Novorossiysk, Kerch, Tula, Murmansk, Smolensk, Brest (Hero Fortress)

Hero City (Belarusian: горад-герой, horad-heroy, Ukrainian: місто-герой, misto-heroy, Russian: город-герой, gorod-geroy) is a Soviet honorary title awarded for outstanding heroism during the German-Soviet War (World War II) of 1941 to 1945. It was awarded to twelve cities of the Soviet Union. In addition the Brest Fortress was awarded an equivalent title of Hero-Fortress. This symbolic distinction for a city corresponds to the individual distinction Hero of the Soviet Union.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...